June 6, 2021

Atkinson Wins the Hoosier Daddy 100 at Winchester Speedway

New Castle, Indiana native Jason Atkinson continued his great beginning to the 2021 Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS season by getting the win in Saturday nights Hoosier Daddy 100 Presented by Indy Fuel on the famous High Banks of Winchester Speedway. The win was Atkinson’s third series win of the season in the four-point events the series has had to date, and he finished second in the event he did not win. The win was also his second in the series Four Crown mini-series.

“This car has just been unbelievable this year at every race,” remarked Atkinson in victory lane. “We ran really good at Salem a couple of weeks ago so I was confident we would have a good car for this race, and we did. Brett Hudson was also fast, and he would have been tough to beat, I hate he had some bad luck tonight, but our luck has been good this season. It’s always great to get a win at Winchester Speedway, it’s great to have one of the Four Crown events here again!”  

Thomas Skiles grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag from his outside pole starting position after Allstar Performance Fast Qualifier Brett Hudson drew a seven for the events invert. Skiles held the lead until Atkinson got around from his fifth place starting position on lap 32. Skiles and Colby Lane tangled on lap 38 battling for second bringing out the events first caution. Both Skiles and Lane were done for the night.

Atkinson kept the lead on the restart and led until the second caution flew on lap 50 for the events halfway break with Hudson now in second from his seventh place starting position.

On the restart after the break, Hudson got the lead away from Atkinson and looked like he might be the car to beat until his day ended on lap 55 when he coasted into the pits with a blown engine, handing the lead back to Atkinson and bringing out the events third and final caution.  

Atkinson would keep the lead on the final restart and go on to hold off Andrew Teepe to get the win and the $3,000 first place payoff. With his three series wins in 2021, Atkinson has become the series all time wins leader with 17 total wins, Jeff Lane and Josh Poore are tied for second with 14.

Teepe came from his eighth place starting position to finish in second and picked up the AR Bodies Cool Move of the Race Award. Teepe’s second place finish was his third top five finish of the season to go with a sixth-place finish at Salem.

J.J. Schafer finished in third in his first series race of the season. Bret Miles Jr. made his first series start since winning the series season opener in April of 2019, he came from his 13th place starting position to finish in fourth place. Chad Pendleton finished in fifth place, Calvin Parham in sixth place, Matt Barnes was seventh and Alan Williams Jr, was eighth.

Series rookie Dawson Phillips came from his 14th place starting position to finish in ninth place and earned the  KRJ Race Products Sweet Move of the Race Award in his Winchester debut.

The next Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks next event will be next Sunday, June 13th at Mt. Lawn Speedway. More information on all the CRA Series is available at www.cra-racing.com.