October 4, 2020

CRA Sportsman Champ to Be Crowned at Winchester

The CRA Late Model Sportsman will crown a champion in their 15th season on Saturday as part of the Winchester 400 weekend.  The stage has been set after “Chase” events at Mt. Lawn Speedway, Lucas Oil Raceway and Anderson Speedway, with four drivers from the Angola Motorsport Speedway/Baer Field Motorsports Park area set to vie for the crown.


The Sportsman will settle the championship battle with a 50-lap feature event to cap off Saturday night’s action.  The race has been won by the series champion in two of the previous years, including last year when Zachary Tinkle went to victory lane.

Tanner Jack enters the event as the regular season champion, giving himself an automatic spot in the championship race.  He enters as one of the hottest drivers in the division, having scored his first career series win at Lucas Oil Raceway during Fall Brawl.

Austin Coe enters the finale tied for most wins with the series, with two wins at Mt. Lawn Speedway.  This is the second straight year he heads into the final race of the season with a shot at the championship, finishing fourth in points one year ago.

Former series champion Billy Hutson will have the chance to make it a four-way tie for most championships in series history with his second championship Saturday.  He is a two-time winner at Winchester, the only driver out of the four to win at the half-mile.

Cassten Everidge rounds out the field of chase contenders for Saturday’s finale at Winchester.  He has scored four top-10 finishes so far in the 2020 season, more than he had total going into the year.  His best finish to date was a second place run at Anderson one year ago.

The CRA Late Model Sportsman have been a part of Winchester 400 weekend since the series’ inception back in 2006, with Steve Blair taking the win.  Inaugural series champion Keith Sterkowitz is the only driver with two wins during the crown jewel weekend.  Other winners of the finale include two-time series champion Charlie Hanna, former ARCA/CRA Super Series champion Derrick Griffin, Mark Parker, Scott Neal, Damon Ecoff, Quinnton Bear, Terry Fisher Jr, Billy VanMeter, KC Spillers, J.P. Crabtree and Zachary Tinkle.

Sterkowitz, Hanna and K.C. Spillers hold a three-way tie for most CRA Late Model Sportsman titles, and Billy Hutson could make it a four-way tie this weekend.  Tony Dager, Mark Lambert, Greg Van Alst, Jason Atkinson, Eddie VanMeter, Tony Brutti and Zachary Tinkle have also added series titles.

The Winchester 400 weekend is scheduled for three action-packed days of racing at the “Fastest Half Mile” on October 9-11.  More tickets have just been released and are available at winchesterspeedway.com/tickets.

Teams and fans wanting to purchase pit passes early to help expedite their entry to the infield can do so at pitpay.com or download the Pit Pay App wherever you obtain App for your mobile device.

Fans unable to make the trip to Winchester, Indiana will be able to watch all three days of racing via a pay-per-view broadcast on Speed51.TV.  For more information and to order your video ticket today, click here.

Be sure to follow Winchester Speedway’s social media channels for the latest updates on upcoming events. “Like” the Winchester Speedway Facebook page, follow @FastestHalfMile on Twitter and Instagram.

-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo