October 2, 2020

First Look at the Winchester 400 Entry List

The 49th Running of the Winchester 400 presented by JEGS is just one weekend away, with anticipation reaching new highs.  More than 30 cars have entered the marquee Super Late Model event, adding to the excitement for this year’s race at Winchester Speedway.


Perhaps the most notable name on the entry list is Senoia, Georgia’s Bubba Pollard.  Pollard will be making his first appearance at the Winchester 400 since 2015, gunning for his first Winchester rifle.

Of course, Pollard’s chief rival is 2019 Winchester 400 champion Stephen Nasse.  Nasse will be back to defend his title after a dominant performance last year, in which the Florida driver led 392 of 400 laps for the victory.

Another former Winchester 400 winner in the field is West Virginia’s Travis Braden.  The defending Snowball Derby champion will be looking for another crown jewel win as “Big Race Season” gets underway.

Jake Garcia, who finished second to Braden in the 2019 Snowball Derby, is making his first trip to Winchester Speedway.  The Georgia young gun hopes to make a strong first impression at the half-mile.

Five of the last six ARCA/CRA Super Series champions are entered for the Winchester 400.  Braden is a two-time champion (2013 and 2014), while Cody Coughlin (2016), Logan Runyon (2017), Josh Brock (2018) and Greg Van Alst (2019) are also entered.

Another champion driver from 2019, Kodie Conner, is entered for his first trek to Winchester Speedway.  Conner won the inaugural PRA Tours Super Late Model championship last year.

Carson Hocevar has been one of the hottest drivers in the Midwest in 2020, with four ARCA/CRA Super Series wins in as many starts.  With a Redbud 400 already to his credit this year, Hocevar seeks another 400-lap win at Winchester.

Trevor Noles took the win last weekend at the Pinty’s U.S. Short Track Nationals at Bristol Motor Speedway driving for Donnie Wilson.  While Noles is not currently entered for the Winchester 400, Wlson Motorsports will field entries for Donnie Wilson and Chandler Smith.

Another big-name team entered for the Winchester 400 is Kyle Busch Motorsports.  Iowa’s Sammy Smith will pilot the No. 51 Toyota Camry as the team seeks its fifth Winchester rifle.

2016 NASCAR Pinty’s Series champion Cayden Lapcevich has made more appearances in Template Super Late Models in 2020 after several years competing in Outlaw Super Late Models.  With podium finishes in both the Gandrud Auto Group 250 and the Glass City 200 to his credit, Lapcevich will now tackle the Winchester 400.

Jeff Fultz is a three-time winner in the World Stock Car Festival, Winchester’s Labor Day trademark event.  Fultz will be seeking his first Winchester 400 triumph to go along with his previous success at the half-mile.

Dalton Armstrong is also a former Super Late Model winner at Winchester, taking the victory in the World Stock Car Festival in 2017.  Former Winchester Speedway winners from other divisions entered for the Winchester 400 include Brandon Oakley, Eddie Van Meter, Mason Keller, Colby Lane, Zachary Tinkle and Kyle Crump.

Armstrong is part of a contingent of Hoosiers hoping to keep the Winchester rifle close to home.  Other Indiana natives entered include Van Meter, Keller, Van Alst, Lane, Jake Hinton, Jack Dossey, III, Hunter Jack and Jaren Crabtree.

The entire entry list for the 49th Winchester 400 can be viewed below.

The Winchester 400 weekend is scheduled for three action-packed days of racing at the “Fastest Half Mile” on October 9-11.  More tickets have just been released and are available at winchesterspeedway.com/tickets.

Teams and fans wanting to purchase pit passes early to help expedite their entry to the infield can do so at pitpay.com or download the Pit Pay App wherever you obtain App for your mobile device.

Fans unable to make the trip to Winchester, Indiana will be able to watch all three days of racing via a pay-per-view broadcast on Speed51.TV.  For more information and to order your video ticket today, click here.

Be sure to follow Winchester Speedway’s social media channels for the latest updates on upcoming events. “Like” the Winchester Speedway Facebook page, follow @FastestHalfMile on Twitter and Instagram.

Entry List – 49th Running of the Winchester 400 presented by JEGS

1 – Cody Coughlin

2 – Donnie Wilson

5 – Dalton Armstrong

6 – Logan Runyon

9 – Jake Hinton

12 – Dan Leeck

15 – Jeff Fultz

16 – Cayden Lapcevich

17 – Josh Brock

20 – Jack Dossey, III

22 – Brandon Oakley

23 – Eddie Van Meter

26 – Travis Braden

26P – Bubba Pollard

26S – Chandler Smith

29 – Mason Keller

33 – Albert Francis

35 – Greg Van Alst

35G – Jake Garcia

41 – Hunter Jack

44 – Colby Lane

45 – Kodie Conner

47 – Dakota Stroup

51 – Sammy Smith

51N – Stephen Nasse

53 – Zachary Tinkle

61 – Bob Varney

62 – Jaren Crabtree

71 – Carson Hocevar

77 – Brandon Varney

131 – Kyle Crump

-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor